Following concerns raised, President Maithripala Sirisena appointed an independent committee to study and compile a report on the Singapore – Sri Lanka Free Trade Agreement.The committee will consist of prominent economists and will be chaired by former Vice-Chancellor of Colombo University, Deshamanya Professor W.D. Lakshman. Former Professor of Economics at the Open University Prof. Sirimevan Colombage, former Professor of Economics of the University of Kelaniya Prof. Ajitha Tennakoon, economic consultant Dr. Sanath Jayanetti and former Assistant Governor of Central Bank R.A. Jayatissa have been appointed as members of the committee. (Colombo Gazette)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *