first_imgPrint Friendly Version ST. LOUIS, Mo. – The Drake University football team placed a league-high 22 student-athletes on the 2018 All-Pioneer Football League teams as voted by the league’s 11 head coaches. The Bulldogs had six first team selections, five second team selections and 11 student-athletes who received honorable mention honors.Fifth-year senior defensive lineman Nathan Clayberg (Pella, Iowa) earned his second straight first team honor and was also named the PFL’s Defensive Player of the Year earlier in the week. Clayberg is joined by four teammates on the first team defense including fifth-year senior linebacker Kieran Severa (Lawrence, Kan.)  and junior defensive back Will Warner (Pella, Iowa) who were both PFL honorable mentions in 2017. The trio played a large part in the Bulldogs’ nationally ranked defense, imposing their will at the line of scrimmage and in the secondary to rank in the top 15 nationally in nearly every defensive statistic.Severa led the team with 67 tackles and 10.5 tackles for loss. Clayberg added 9.5 tackles for loss, which was second to only Severa, as well as six pass breakups and two blocked kicks. Warner was the Bulldogs’ top playmaker. He was second in the nation with a school-record eight interceptions, despite only playing 10 games to date, which were returned for an FCS best 223 yards. During the season he also earned recognition as FCS STATS Defensive Player of the Week, and on Nov. 19 he was named a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award which is awarded to the nation’s top defensive player.Junior defensive lineman Gavin Dineen (Algonquin, Ill.), fifth-year senior defensive back Jabari Butler (Chicago, Ill.), and senior kicker Danny Donley (Tulsa, Okla.) round out the Bulldogs’ six first team selections. Dineen totaled 35 tackles and three sacks to bolster Drake’s attack up front. Butler had 30 tackles, and seven pass breakups which was second best on the team. Donley went 9-of-9 on field goals this season, including two clutch field goals in the swirling wind in the team’s 13-10 win over Marist.Drake placed two players on the second team offense, senior wide receiver Steven Doran (Germantown, Wis.) and fifth year senior offensive lineman Grant Snow (Columbia, Ill.). Doran led the team with 918 receiving yards and 12 touchdowns. Snow has played in all 10 games so far this season.Three Bulldogs were named to the second team defense, including the team’s second and third leading tacklers, Connor Willis (Glen Ellyn, Ill.) and Sean Lynch (Hawthorn Woods, Ill.). Willis registered 66 tackles, including 8.0 tackles for loss. Lynch added 55 tackles and two interceptions which he returned for 37 yards and one touchdown. The third Bulldog to make the second team defense was linebacker Erin Morgan (Aurora, Ill.). Morgan added 20 tackles and 7.0 tackles for loss in eight games of play.The Bulldogs’ 11 All-PFL honorable mention selections included four defenders, four offensive players and three special team players. Offensive lineman Jacob Bacon (Hastings, Minn.), slot receiver Devin Cates (Yuba City, Calif.), nickelback Cooper Christiano (Melbourne Beach, Fla.), tight end Zach DeLeon (Leawood, Kan.), long-snapper Brady Eckert (Mt. Prospect, Ill.), punter Ross Kennedy (Cedar Rapids, Iowa), offensive lineman Jordan Lewinsky (Mequon, Wis.), defensive tackle Peter Read (Lincoln, Neb.), linebacker Zac Rujawitz (Edwardsville, Ill.), outside linebacker Tyler Terveer (Whitefish Bay, Wis.) and punt returner Terry Wallen.The Academic All-PFL team, highlighted by the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year, will be released Wednesday, concluding the league’s awards week.Drake All-PFL Team SelectionsFirst TeamDefenseDL Nathan ClaybergDL Gavin DineenLB Kieran SeveraDB Jabari ButlerDB Will WarnerSpecial TeamsPK Danny DonleySecond TeamOffenseWR Steve DoranOL Grant SnowDefenseDL Erin MorganLB Connor WillisDB Sean LynchHonorable MentionOffenseOL Jacob BaconWR Devin CatesTE Zach DeLeonOL Jordan LewinskyDefenseDB Cooper ChristianoDL Peter ReadLB Zac Rujawitz  LB Tyler TerveerSpecial TeamsLS Brady EckertP Ross KennedyRS Terry Wallen Story Linkscenter_img 2018 All-PFL Teams last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *